2 Bookstagram Investments That Are Worth The Money

The best thing about bookstagram is can be as inexpensive (or expensive) as you want it to be. You can run a beautiful account with library books & gorgeous outdoor space. You can also run a gorgeous account with special edition books in your personal home library. Most of us lie somewhere in between the two extremes.

After being on bookstagram for many years, I’ve spent money on various props and borrowed items from people for photos. In the end, I’ve it narrowed down two items that I love and use for almost every single photo and am happy to have spent the money on them.

Filter

There are SO many different photo filter apps out there. If you ask 100 different bookstagrammers which photo editor/filters they use, you’ll likely get 100 different answers. Some of them are 100% free, some have several filters free and you pay to unlock more, & others you’ll need to pay to use the app at all.

It is 100% worth it to take an afternoon (or a few hours) and download multiple filters/apps & find your editing style. It might take 1 app to do it. My style comes from 3 different apps that I use. [Don’t want to spend all that time to do it yourself? SpellboundDesignsCo sells Lightroom Presets that are perfect for Bookstagram and super cheap.]

I use:

  • Lightroom (free)
  • Snapseed (free)
  • Repix (paid to unlock everything)

Filters are one of the easiest ways to make your photos cohesive and give yourself a beautiful feed.

Background

Props can be a tough thing to bring yourself to spend money on. If money is tight, why would you want to spend it on something so trivial? Maybe you just hate clutter. Maybe you have no storage. Whatever the reason, I absolutely understand your hesitancy.

Hands down the BEST prop I’ve bought is my background.

Once again there are so many different companies that sell backdrops for photos.

High End Companies:

Affordable:

Bulletin Board Paper

These come rolled up like wrapping paper except they’re about 10 feet long and 4 feet wide. I found the best options locally at Hobby Lobby (~$10). You could also try other craft stores in your area as well as a teacher supply store. Amazon or online is an option but it is paper and shipping is not a gentle process. You’ll be able to find tasteful designs (wood, brick, tile, marble looking patterns) or more ‘fun’ designs (solid colors, seasons, other patterns).

Example of my wood paper
Example of my brick paper

Amazon also sells photography backdrops made of vinyl or other fabrics starting at $14 if you’re not ready to spend the big bucks. You know the quality of items sold on Amazon so make sure to read reviews/look at pictures before making your purchase.

Use What You Have:

Maybe you’re one of those really lucky people to live in a beautiful space. Gorgeous hardwood floors? Do a quick sweep/mop to clean up and you’ll have a great flat lay space. Brick accent wall? Tastefully arrange what décor you have against it and you can have a fantastic background. Crisp white sheets on your bed? You’ve got yourself a cozy, hygge background.

What bookstagram investments have been worth the money for you?

Instagram | Goodreads | Facebook | Pinterest | Support the Blog

17 thoughts on “2 Bookstagram Investments That Are Worth The Money

  1. I admit I don’t want to spend any money on bookstagram props, so I just use whatever I have. I think scarves and other fabrics can add a nice textured look to a background!

    Like

  2. I’ve actually been absent from bookstagram for a while, but I definitely agree that the backgrounds and props make a big difference. I enjoy using fake flowers in my photos too! Surprisingly I don’t use filter apps at all and prefer using what instagram has already. 😄✨

    Like

Leave a comment